Tuesday, August 11, 2009

The taboo of mentioning marriage

Magaly asks: Do you think the topic of marriage has become a sort of taboo?
As I was doing my personal blogging and reflecting on my day (because I do that) I thought about how today Jean and I were looking at some bridal magazines and talking a little bit about marriage.
We basically discussed –what kind of dresses we like, dislike, fears about marrying/not marrying, etc. but it seemed like...I don’t know, an unfinished convo of sorts? This led to me thinking about how it always seems that way when people talk about marriage.Like, girls don't bring it up with guys because they get all youknowhow (insert stereotypical male reaction to commitment here) about it. It also seems like girls don't even talk about it amongst themselves as much because they think they're going to be judged for it?
"para que estas pensando en eso.?"
"como si te fueras a casar"
"why are you so worried...blah blah"
"first find a guy"(ha)
etc.

Blanca: You (at least have a boy) who you probably won't marry. Ouch, see, did you feel the sting of that taboo? That's another one you never say "You marry that gf/bf or whatnot"
Why?
Maybe it’s like "You know don't know my life" or "Are you trying to jinx this?" or "Why would you say that?"
but I mean it isn't that big of a deal, really.
oh but it is.
Bringing up marriage is such a touchy subject not only because people get married so easily these days and divorce rates are at an all-time high but because it’s a crazy thing when some wants to spend the rest of their life with you (at that time ha!)

Magaly: So it seems as if our crazy minds can handle this crap because we're like over wired and skeptical, but it's a big deal for glow-stick minds?
I must say that the whole "jinxing it" thing sounds very realistic to me.
That's why many people don't want to delve too much into the matter.
And I understand, I think.
“Sometimes I don't like to delve on how much I'm going to enjoy an ice cream cone because I don't have said ice cream cone yet.
marriage is an ice cream cone.”

Jean: Marriage is exciting yet intimidating because when it does happen you vow to be with that person forever, "till death do us part." That takes a lot of commitment and even though it may be easy to say "I love you" or "I want to be with you forever" or "I want to make babies with you..." (hahaha) people are indecisive.
“You get married and realize... wow I've entered ultimate adulthood.”


Blanca: Its crazy tho' isn't it?
I have to be 100% convinced that the person who is/will ask me, is in fact THE person.
If I'm like "Oh well we've been dating for 4 yrs now (idk) it only seems right"
Pfft. No. I will not get married unless I know that this is someone I want to be dealing with on a 24hr basis.I just don't understand how people take it so lightly.
Maybe because it means something to us, and that's why we don't just brush it off with "think about that later", you know?
It’s like..
. “uh. No, how about I get my shit straight BEFORE it happens?”


Magaly: Yeah, I know what you mean.
I wouldn't want to go into something like marriage while second-guessing myself.
and you're totally right about how people decide to get married because they've been together for a certain period of time and thus often feel that they "should" or "owe it to one another".
“Maybe i just like spending time with you once in a while, over a long period of time.24/7 is definitely different.”

I can't even stand MYSELF 24/7.
I agree about it meaning something to us.I don't want to be put on the spot someday and not have thought this through. and if I ever do decide to do this, I don't want it to be " well, if this one doesn't work maybe next try will…" because wtf?

Blanca: Also, minute by minute we get older (or are dying, whichever perspective fits you best...I'll go with the older one).
Everything has an expiration date. Yeah, everyone can hook up when they are old but it’s grossandIdon'tapprove. Anyways, so we all want to "fall-in- love", "have a successful careers", "get married", "have children" at our prime. So, we can be a good-looking couple at our wedding and have beautiful children running around in our huge backyard with a swimming pool and awesome bbq grill.
Now, this fairy tale story has to occur between 25-30. Anything before or after is like, "why so early"(ni fue a la escuela) or "it’s about time" (ya esta BIEN corretiada)
‘I always dreamed of the perfect wedding’
“…and then you end up on Bridezillas making your own damn wedding cake and with a fat ol' groom.”


Jean: It's weird knowing that we are of legal age and must look into what lies ahead of us. Like what Blanca said "Everything has an expiration date. Yeah, everyone can hook up when they are old but its grossandIdon'tapprove." Once we are engaged in a relationship (not a hookup) or already engaged in one, we have to consider the future.. Do I really want to be with you? Or do I just like the thought of having you as a boyfriend? Or what if there is someone better out there for me
“There are so many what ifs.... I can go on forever”

No comments:

Post a Comment